The following information covers the fair housing protections added in select Kentucky cities and counties, as well as general landlord/tenant laws in the state.

Landlord/Tenant Act (URLTA)
  • The Kentucky Landlord/Tenant Act (officially known as the Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act, or URLTA)
    – As of 2016, the Kentucky Landlord/Tenant Act only applies in: Pulaski County, Oldham County, Jefferson County, Fayette County, Barbourville, Bellevue, Bromley, Covington, Dayton, Florence, Georgetown, Ludlow, Melbourne, Newport, Silver Grove, Southgate, Shelbyville, Taylor Mill, and Woodlawn.
  • KY Attorney General
    – Please see the AG’s page for guidance on rental rights in non-URLTA areas.
  • Protecting Yourself and Your Family When the Laws Don’t
    – Published by the Homeless & Housing Coalition of South Central Kentucky.
    This is a handbook created for the residents of the Barren River area in South Central Kentucky. However, if you live in a city or county in Kentucky that has not adopted the Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (URLTA, also known as the Landlord/Tenant Act in shorthand), there are many tips in this handbook that will be legally relevant to protecting your rights as a tenant.
  • Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity
    Translate »